Take advantage of this fantastic opportunity to get your child immunized at no cost!
Washington State’s School Immunization Law requires documentation of immunization at the time of school registration. A Certificate of Immunization Status (CIS), signed by the parent/guardian must be on file at the school on or before the student’s first day of school. It is the responsibility of the parent/guardian to obtain the required documentation AND complete the form.
The CIS form is available online:
- Certificate of Immunization Status: English
- Washington State Department of Health Vaccine Requirements
Before a student can attend school, parents must provide proof of full immunization, proof that a schedule of immunization has been started or a certificate of exemption. Immunization must be provided against diphtheria, pertussis (whooping cough), tetanus, polio, mumps, measles, rubella, hepatitis B and varicella.
Immunizations protect the health of your child, and the health of others. State law requires that children entering Kindergarten must have certain immunizations. For Kindergarten entry:
- 2 doses of Varicella (Chickenpox) given on or after 1st birthday and received at least 28 days apart OR Blood test (titer) showing immunity to Varicella OR health care provider diagnosis is acceptable. Parent-reported history of disease is NO longer acceptable
- 5 doses of DTP (Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis)
5th dose must be given on or after the 4th birthday or 4 doses are acceptable if 4th dose was given on or after the 4th birthday.
- 4 doses of Polio – 4th dose must be given on or after the 4th birthday or 3 doses are acceptable if 3rd dose was given on or after the 4th birthday.
- 2 doses of MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella) given on or after 1st birthday and received at least 28 days apart OR Blood test (titer) showing immunity to Measles, Mumps, or Rubella is acceptable
- 3 doses of Hepatitis B; dose 3 must be given on or after 24 weeks of age.
Students entering the 6th through 8th grade must show proof of varicella vaccine. Students age 11 are required to show proof of Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis) vaccination.
It is important to note that students exempted from a vaccine will be excluded from school in the event of an outbreak of that particular disease.